Supremely Grey

Earl Grey Supreme
by Harney & Sons

(Available at harney.com.)

I found myself enjoying Harney & Sons tea a few weekends ago at a hotel in town. I was attending a conference for our church and exploring the breakfast spread.  I thoroughly enjoyed their Orange Pekoe, so I made a mental note to look up the teamakers when I got home. Turns out, their site is very well organized and informative. That’s when I spotted it: Earl Grey Supreme. You’re kidding, I thought, No way these guys are trying to perfect a classic like Earl Grey.

I ended up ordering the a box of the Supreme, Orange Pekoe, and Paris. All of them are excellent, but this blog is about the Earl.

This tea assaults your tongue with bergamot and leaves you (no pun intended) warm and satisfied. Have you ever sipped regular Earl Grey and just felt like it lacked something? If you’re a fan of rich, black tea with full-bodied flavor with nothing left to your imagination, this is the tea for you. Bergamot, of course, is a fruit that acts as the key ingredient in Earl Grey tea. It’s a citrus fruit grown mainly in Italy, and the essential oil from the peel is extracted for flavoring.

The Earl, for those of you who may not be familiar with this tea’s history (but neither was I until I did some research), is more formally known as Earl Charles Grey (1764-1845). He supposedly received black tea with bergamot oil from a friend, and the drink was named for him. Apparently Grey was also Prime Minister who made a bunch of politically progressive decisions for the Whig party, but his legacy is overshadowed by his gift of tea. I don’t know if we should feel sorry for him or not. Either way, we have Earl Grey tea, and what a delight it is.

This particular tea comes in loose-leaf, bags, and sachets, all in a variety of sizes and very reasonably priced. Check it out.

2 Comments

Filed under Tea Reviews

2 responses to “Supremely Grey

  1. Mary Kuykendall

    What an interesting article and what a fun thing to do.
    Have you tried PG Tips? It is now my favorite tea.

Leave a Reply

